Llama types

Llamas can be divided into Ccara and Tampuli
i.e short- and long-haired or "Classic" and "woolly".
can  be sub-divided into Ccara and Curaca

Ccara -  short woolled,
the llama most typically seen in the UK, hence the term "classic".



Curaca - the medium woolled llama and the next most typical in the UK.

can be sub-divided into Tapada and Lanuda



Tapada - heavy woolled and relatively unusual in the UK


 heavy woolled with fringes on the ears and head and abundant wool down the legs. The rarest type of llama in the UK and, along with the Tapada,  a speciality of Roseland Lamas.

Back to Llama Basics...